The Disease Called Perfection

It has been awhile since I’ve written. Massive amounts of life have gotten in the way. I also have this nasty thing called perfectionism, that occasionally manifests itself as perfection, that also gets in my way. I’ve started about 15 blog posts and never can quite seem to finish them. Sometimes my thoughts run dry as I’m writing. Sometimes It’s because I don’t really know what I’m trying to say. I’m just having a stream of consciousness. Navel gazing if you will. Why subject people to that?

But I encountered an article today that made me cry…

For those who know me well, I don’t cry often. I hate crying. Why I hate crying so much is a topic for a different post, but suffice it to say, I avoid it at all costs. I’ve only recently allowed myself to become more vulnerable in front of my husband with the occasional tantrum that might include some tears. Even then, I always chide myself afterward because it seems so…manipulative.

Ok, I’m getting off subject here with the crying. Back to the article. It was titled “The Disease Called Perfection” written by blogger Dan Pearce at Single Dad Laughing. Here is the link… http://www.danoah.com/2010/09/disease-called-perfection.html. He wrote a follow-up to it here… http://www.danoah.com/2011/09/the-disease-called-perfection-one-year-later.html

I thought everything he said was beautiful and raw and real. So many of those perfection statements were me, sadly. My dose of real is very scary for me to admit to people, even to myself. You see, I have an image. While I tell a couple of “real” things to one group and maybe a couple of “real” things to another group, the entirety of my “realness” gets hidden. Maybe I’ll get brave soon and hang out some of my real here. It would probably be a good thing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julianne Kinsey
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 08:09:22

    Thanks for sharing Kate!! Also, just so you know, crying is another way the body and soul detox 🙂 It took me a long time to accept it and now when I need it I allow myself a good cry!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

