Today My Dysfunction Is…

I saw an amusing product in a bookstore today. It was 3 different notebooks with different titles. One was, “In My Humble Opinion.” You are supposed to write about everything that drives you nuts that people do. The next one is…. The last one is “Dysfunction.”

I thought the dysfunction one was especially funny. I might have to get it for Christmas gifts. Every page has a quote and then “Today my dysfunction is…” and then you write.

In an ode to that, I’m going to write about my dysfunction.

Today my dysfunction is that I have this “I finish people’s thoughts for them too often” problem. I don’t call this interrupting persay. That implies that I am cutting them off to talk about myself. I don’t. But I get really frustrated when I’m about 3 steps ahead of other people’s own thoughts and I already see where they are going and what they are going to say, I get a little excitable and I start blurting out what I know they are going to say next. Its like I get really impatient for them to catch up with the fact that I’m already caught up to whatever it was they were going to say and I just want them to get it out so we can get to the root of what we are discussing. I also just want the other person to know that I GET them and feel them and am totally on the same page empathetically.

I’m sure this annoys people. I need to really try to stop that and let people spit things out in their own time.

I, Kate, vow to shut up more often even if I have to bite on my lip to do so.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DG
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 12:32:39

    LMAO!! You SOOO do this …. LOL — But *I* don’t see it as a bad thing 😉

    Reply

  2. exploringempath
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 20:20:34

    At least I’m self-aware, right? That’s the first step to change!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

